Novel Writing

Recently I finished writing the first draft of my first novel. It’s 185 pages handwritten and barely 100 pages typed, but it’s probably the biggest accomplishment a 14 year old girl could make. It took me awhile to start the second, mostly because I didn’t know what was going to happen. Every time I started to write the intro to the new story it would melt slowly into meaningless walks in the park and morning routines. It wasn’t until yesterday that I actually sat down and planned out what would happen in the first place. I never thought I had it in me to plan a book from start to finish like that. Afterwards I started writing once again, this time with a goal in mind. What about you, fellow novel writers? Do you like to know where you’re going while writing a new book, or do you prefer the adventure of not having a clue in the world as to what may happen?

12 thoughts on “Novel Writing

  1. Well done! That’s quite an accomplishment! Now comes the grueling part of editing. 🙂

    As for my writing, I am working on an extensive outline because I tend to waffle if I don’t have one. I’ve written chapter 1 already because I wanted to make sure that the voice is right, but I’ll mostly be working on my outline now. I might write a few scenes here and there, but I definitely need a solid framework.

  2. I started my first novel during National Novel Writing Month in 2010 and I did my 50k words. I found it to be such a difficult thing to sort through afterwards and try to put in a sensible format. I’ve worked on it for 2 years and still don’t think that it’s in good shape. So now I’m working on my second one and I’ve decided to be a lot more methodical about it to save myself loads of trouble later on.

    I’ve read interviews with many writers and they all seem to do it differently. I’m kind of just floundering around trying to find the way that works best for me. We’ll see what happens.

    Good luck with your writing!

  3. I simply have notebooks filled with possible plot-lines which I then end up drifting away from.
    I find the only way I get anything really done is to sit down and simply write.

  4. Good for you! I have a draft to a novel lying around (I got frustrated with it) , and I’ve done more with short stories recently. I like your blog! Thanks for the follow!

Leave a Reply

