You Know You Do This When Summer Comes

Sorry for not writing in a while. It’s been sort of crazy with the final days of school. And now it’s summer. I feel like I should be running a marathon, learning a new language, or writing about my non-existent summer romance. Instead I woke up this morning at 5:45 AM, went back to sleep, got up at 9, and have been fighting the urge to crawl back into bed for the duration  of the morning. Even a few hours later I feel as though there’s some invisible force that’s pushing down on my head. Maybe it’s because I stayed up until midnight finishing an 800 page book? Probably not.

Even so, I think all of our summers start off like this, sleeping for a week and then finally pulling our act together. I know that this is for the new year, but I have some summer resolutions. Well, not really resolutions. I feel like resolutions are things you want to fix. But the kind of things I’m talking about are challenges. Yeah, summer challenges. Everyone has them. You know the ones, where you lie in bed and imagine coming back to school or work, everyone aghast at how different you are. Like you learnt to break dance or you finished your first novel and everyone says “Wow, look at her. She really has it together”. 

Even though these never seem to come true, there’s never anything wrong with being optimistic. So here are the top ten things I want to accomplish this summer:

  1. Write 100 pages in my novel.
  2. Be able to play a song on guitar.
  3. Draw everyday.
  4. Walk everyday (I found out that my joints are not meant for jogging).
  5. Eat healthier.
  6. Learn more French.
  7. Watch ten amazing movies.
  8. Read all of the books I’ve put on hold; The Time Traveler’s Wife, Slum Dog Millionaire, Mockingjay, and The Mark of Athena.
  9. Blog like a maniac.
  10. And try something I was scared to do.

It doesn’t matter if I don’t accomplish all of these (although for some of them they aren’t that unrealistic), but at least my goals will keep me busy. What about you? What are you doing this summer? Do you have ‘Summer Challenges’ like I do or do you already have it all planned out? Are you going on a cruise in the Bahamas or are you going to the lake every week? Or maybe you’re like me, hoping adventures will come your way, but in the mean time relaxing. Whatever it is that you’re doing, I hope you have a great summer.

Leave a Reply

