The Cabin

It turns out that I stayed at Anne’s cabin a bit longer than I had anticipated. I said I’d be coming back on Sunday, but I only came back today, Monday. It was great but I’m glad to be home. Anne’s family definitely doesn’t function like mine does and after a while, I really need a break.

The camp, situated by a sparkling lake and filled with retro buses and Christmas lights, was a German settlement that was overrun by Canadians. Let’s call it the German Camp. It’s always filled with the sound of country music and fireworks. A safe, woodsy, runaway village that is sure to calm the mind from the city life. That is, if you’re with the right people. Anne and her family are great, but they’re like pizza. You just can’t eat it all the time because you’ll get sick of it. Life with them is never quiet, never calm, always bickering. That’s how they like. For me it’s just stressful.

On the bright side of things, it was lots of fun. We went to the beach and I got a tan. I finished reading The Time Traveler’s Wife, an absolutely amazing book that I recommend entirely. We watched fireworks on the beach and roasted marshmallows. I also wrote a lot, surprising myself because I’d anticipated not having time to write at all. But Anne is a writer too so we talked about our books and sat in concentrated silence together, working on our novels.

It was fun to finally get out. It’s great to be back. It’s finally June. exactly two months and three days left of summer. I’d better use it wisely.

Leave a Reply

